LPN with little experience

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (1 to 50 of 131)
Page:   1  2  3  Next »   Last »

Leslie in Dublin, Virginia

71 months ago

I graduated from the Practical Nursing Program in 2005. I worked for 5 months at an assisted living facility in 2006. The administrator told me that she needed someone with more experience, so she let me go. Since then, I have put in many different applications and handed in just as many resumes to prospective job contacts. I still, have had no luck whatsoever. I have very little experience as an LPN, but am competant at what I do. I don't know what I am doing wrong. I have been to several interviews, but that is as far as it ever gets. Can someone please give me some advice? Thank you.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (33) / No (7) Reply - Report abuse

RN in Modesto, California

71 months ago

Leslie,
Number one, I would have someone in the medical field look at your resume to see if it's well written and lists all of your qualifications.
Secondly, have someone mock interview you, maybe you are getting too nervous during your interviews or you don't look confident. I think you may want to apply for part time or per diem work just to get your feet wet. You need more experience, 5 months in the last 3 years is hurting your chances of finding full time work.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (3) / No (1) Reply - Report abuse

Patricia in Pickering, Ontario

70 months ago

The above advise is very useful. Also, you should hand in your resume with a coverletter to all potential employers, whether they are advertised or not. These companies could be long-term care facilities, nursing homes, private and public clinics, hospitals, and nursing agencies.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (2) / No (1) Reply - Report abuse

Jewel in Rockwell, North Carolina

70 months ago