PICC line flush

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (51 to 93 of 93)
Page:  « Previous   1  2   

tineka in Fort Lauderdale, Florida

65 months ago

cynthia in Perry, Florida said: Yes you can flush a picc line as long as you IV certified.

exactly, with iv certification. I passed my boards 1 month ago.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No (1) Reply - Report abuse

Timothy Christopher LVN in Dallas, Texas

61 months ago

I have been placing PICC lines and maintaining them for more than 5 years now. LVN's can place and flush PICC's. Use the old acronym SASH: saline, antibiotic, saline , heparin. Just flush the old heparin through with the first saline

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (5) / No (2) Reply - Report abuse

John Coxey in Syracuse, New York

61 months ago

LPNs are NOT ALLOWED TO TOUCH PICC LINES in NEW YORK STATE. It depends on your state board of nursing.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (3) / No Reply - Report abuse

HEDY in Columbus, Ohio

61 months ago

good morning, are we as aged nurses not being hired because we have gotten older. i have been an lpn for 21years and for the last 2yrs i have worked in casemanagement. but the problem is that i can not get a job here in the city where i live in ohio. i have notice that the trend is younger nurses are hired. can someone help me understanding?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

Rica in Indianapolis, Indiana

61 months ago

Frank in Raleigh, North Carolina said: I am a LPN at duke (which they call MLPN because we have extra training in med administration), and I am on the IV team there. I am able to do everything an RN does with the exception of pushing some classification of drugs, taking the role of charge, and insert PICC lines. I am able to flush and also trouble shoot simple picc issues/problems. The one thing that we here are also not permitted is taking out picc lines.