Working for the VA or other federal government agencies

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (4)

MST in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

50 months ago

I am planning to attend social work school in the fall to obtain my MSW. I currently work in the child welfare field and I do not like it. It is very stressful and the pay is low. I am interested in working for the Veteran's Administration or even as a civilian employee for the army, navy, or other armed forces. Does anyone here work for one of these organizations or know anything about it? I know the VA is hard to get into, and I wonder if it would help to volunteer at my local VA hospital.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

socialwkr in Missouri

49 months ago

MST in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania said: I am planning to attend social work school in the fall to obtain my MSW. I currently work in the child welfare field and I do not like it. It is very stressful and the pay is low. I am interested in working for the Veteran's Administration or even as a civilian employee for the army, navy, or other armed forces. Does anyone here work for one of these organizations or know anything about it? I know the VA is hard to get into, and I wonder if it would help to volunteer at my local VA hospital.

Hi MST......best wishes in your pursuit of higher education. I am not sure whether you are a veteran or have any military familiarity? Working in those areas is also stressful too! Civilians working in the military is a different work environment then the VA Hospital system. I got out at the end of 1999. I have heard about there being a disconnect between military therapists and civilian therapists on bases. Most of the people who were referred to the mental health system in the military did not go by choice back then, but because they were "ordered" by their leadership or for those who recognized they needed help, they were told to suck it up and drive on.