Want to Become a Massage Therapist

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (1 to 50 of 180)
Page:   1  2  3  4  Next »   Last »

MT in P-Town in Portland, Oregon

68 months ago

Sweetzy317, if you're exhausted after just going to school, then you might not be up for the exhaustion that will inevitably come as a massage therapist! Here are some statistics:

50% of massage school enrollees either drop out or do not get their license. The primary reason is disillusionment with the field. Most just feel a career in massage was the wrong choice.

80% of all licensed massage therapists quit after 5-7 years. The primary reason is physical pain and burnout.

I have been massaging for 5 years and have been burned out for a year. My entire body aches so much that I can't sleep. I'm so sick of walking around the same table...in the same room...doing the same massage...on the same people...day after day...faxing the same lawyers the same paperwork...fighting and scrapping with insurance companies over every little dime.

I do 18-20 massages a week. Please remember that for every hour you're paid to massage, you do another hour of work for no pay. I expect to gross $46,000, and my expenses are around $8,000.

OK, I'm exaggerating how horrible a massage career is, but not by much. If I had to do it over again, I WOULDN'T!

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (35) / No (21) Reply - Report abuse

Gardener in Washington

68 months ago

Helms357 in Indianapolis, Indiana said: I am wanting to become a massage therapist. It is something I have wanted to do for a long time but I am scared I will not make enough income to live on. Can you help me out? I can not trust schools that are trying to get me to sign up or the labor statistic because they always seem to be wrong. Please give me some input. Thanks so much.