NEW MA GRADS GET NO RESPECT!!!!!

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (5)

Matt in Layton. in Salt Lake City, Utah

54 months ago

TaylorPhillips315 in Marietta, Georgia said: Hello everyone, I'm a recent graduate of a Medical Assisting degree program and plan on taking my exam in a few weeks. Everywhere I look says "No new grads and 2-3 experience." How is someone supposed to gain any experience if they can't get a chance to show what they can do? My extern is almost up and despite the compliments from all of the staff, I know I'm not getting hired. The funds just arn't there. But I can do everything, from rooming the patients to performing venipuncture and other reutine test. I ask for no help from the nurses and I'm confident that I will have no problem working in a practice. Any suggestions out there on how I can get someone to give me a chance?
Thanks so much

Hello there, I would like to thank you for working really hard at your externship...it takes a lot of hard work. When externship is over or even before it's over...get letters of reference from everyone that you worked with. This will help you in the long run...also try Nursing agencies in your area. When you do your resume make sure everything is spelled right, and any awards you got in school make sure they are on your resume as well and be most of all be truthful. One last thing talk to local Doctors in your area if they have any openings or know of anyone who is hiring...because a lot of providers will train new grads on how they like things done in their practice this will make you a better Medical Assistant. Keep putting out resumes and going to job fairs. Good luck your in your new career and God bless.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (5) / No (1) Reply - Report abuse

Nikki79 in New York, New York

54 months ago