Viable job field?

Comments (9)

Kendal in Rogers, Arkansas

60 months ago

I'm a 21 year old female. I graduated from high school with many extracurriculars and a 4.0 GPA (many AP courses as well). I became interested in billing/coding because I want a job with decent pay and working conditions (hospital/office), and I love to exercise my intellect.

I'm enrolled in a course at Petra Allied Health (Arkansas) from June to November that's supposed to teach how to do this. After reading this forum I'm getting rather concerned that it won't be enough training to get a job. I'm paying for this out of pocket, and I want some honest opinions on whether I should think of dropping the course. There are no other schools in my area that offer training for this.

If you think it's not a good idea, what type of career might you suggest for me? I've only worked Wal-mart jobs so far, and want to get far away from that! I'm not much of a people person, don't want a 'physical' job, and would prefer something that I could get into with a 1 year or less certification or course (further training later is fine). Thanks in advance for any help you can give.

valentine in Salt Lake City, Utah

60 months ago

I am much like you, I don't really like working with the general public, I would much rather sit in my area and work undisturbed, that is where coding comes in, it is great for that.

If you want honesty, I have plenty of it. Here is the thing, the field is becoming over saturated with people like yourself, taking a 6-9 month course to obtain their certificate. these types of programs really don't teach you enough to get a coding job. I should know, I took one myself.