Can not find a job in RHIT field/Coding

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (1 to 50 of 103)
Page:   1  2  3  Next »   Last »

L123 in Eau Claire, Wisconsin

65 months ago

I really need advice, I graduated from the HIT program and got my RHIT. I have such a hard time finding a job due to lack of experince in coding and working in the HIM department. I really want to code but most facilities want 2 or more years. I have one year experience with admitting and working with medical records! Every interview that I have gone to has decided to pick someone with more experience! Help I need some advice and a job real bad!

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (54) / No (5) Reply - Report abuse

valentine2 in salt lake city, Utah

65 months ago

I know its not what you want to hear, especially after getting a degree and passing the RHIT (congrats on that), but most employers are not going to hire someone without actual experience to do their coding. Between the new RAC audits, government mandates on fraud and abuse, not to mention a hospital/clinics corner stone: reimbursement, there is too much at stake for an inexperienced person.

It is unfair and disheartening.

So your best bet is to try to get your foot into HIM at a hospital, start in medical records (or something similiar) and let your supervisor know that you want to do coding (not all RHIT's are interested in coding and are happy working in medical records). Offer to help out if the coding dept gets behind, or if you can shadow a couple hours a day, etc. And a lower job is still better than no job.

I do not say this to make you upset or to discourage, but to show the reality of coding, I am only trying to help.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (45) / No (6) Reply - Report abuse

leorajs in Lebanon, Tennessee

64 months ago