Help! Grad. with B.S. degree eager to work in Healthcare! Master's in HIM or Health Administration? RHIT or CCS?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (16)

Rachel in Victoria, Texas

43 months ago

Hello Everyone,

I am a graduate of May 2010 with a Bachelor's degree in Communication Studies and would like to work in healthcare. However, I am split between elderly care (working at a retirement community) and Health Information Management. My dilemma is my lack of experience and/or education in health which keeps me from getting ANY job in either field. Now, I am debating between obtaining RHIT or CCS certification, or a master's degree in HIM or Health Administration/Management.

SO - Is a master's degree or certificate wiser? And which type of program/degree would I benefit more from (HIM or Health Admin., RHIT or CCS?)

((Keep in mind, even if I get a master's degree, it may do little good without any job-related experience.))

And, if you have any experience in HIM or working in a retirement community, please share!!!

THANK YOU for your help!!!

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

1102vita in Phoenix, Arizona

42 months ago

Hi, I am in a similar boat. Graduated with a B.A. in Advertising and have not been satisfied with my job opportunities. I have no experience in health care, but I am interested in getting into the field. What I am looking for is guaranteed employment in the health care field upon graduation with room for advancement in pay. I am not going to spend time and money to be right back in the situation I am now only with more debt. What is the difference between a Masters in Health (care) Admin and a Masters in Public Health? Which one will lead to the most/better employment opportunities given my current situation?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No (1) Reply - Report abuse

valentine2 in Park City, Utah

42 months ago