need advice please - RHIT exam

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (1 to 50 of 1722)
Page:   1  2  3  4  Next »   Last »

Theresa in Round Lake, Illinois

78 months ago

I graduated from college in 2005 in health information technology and due to family problems, I had to put aside taking the RHIT exam. Now, 2 1/2 years later, I wanted to persue it. But most of the stuff I learned, including the coding part, might be obsolete now. I need advice on what to do. Do I go back and get another associate in HIT and start over again or can I just buy the new editions of the books I used when I was studying to study for the RHIT exam? Thanks!

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (27) / No (4) Reply - Report abuse

Lorraine W. in Connersville, Indiana

77 months ago

Theresa in Round Lake, Illinois said: I graduated from college in 2005 in health information technology and due to family problems, I had to put aside taking the RHIT exam. Now, 2 1/2 years later, I wanted to persue it. But most of the stuff I learned, including the coding part, might be obsolete now. I need advice on what to do. Do I go back and get another associate in HIT and start over again or can I just buy the new editions of the books I used when I was studying to study for the RHIT exam? Thanks!

If you kept your notes, I would definitely read them all again. Yes, you might want to renew the books you had--coding manuals and Faye Brown if you had that (a great resource, by the way).

I waited over a year after graduation to take the RHIT exam. I got all my notes together and read them and all my text books. Other people I knew (who took it right away) had consulted an RHIT prep book; unfortunately, I don't know the title, but it would be a good thing to research online (or through the school you attended).

If there is anyone who can help you prepare (ie, quizzing you), sign them up!

Good luck to you!

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (4) / No (2) Reply - Report abuse