mid-thirties career change into medical lab technician

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (2)

KC in Columbus, Ohio

38 months ago

Hello all,
I'm in my mid-thirties and considering returning to school for a Med Lab Technican associate's degree. I have a master's degree and a job, but am unhappy in my current position and there are no jobs in my field. I was wondering if there are others who have become medical lab technicians coming at it from this non-traditional angle.

I'm particularly interested in med lab tech because it seems that there are actually job opportunities and that I would be able to work second shift (which I prefer) and not bring work home with me. I have no experience in medicine or science. Any suggestions for how to get some experience in this field? I plan to enroll in basic bio and chem classes this spring.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (1) / No Reply - Report abuse

daney21 in Toronto, Ohio

32 months ago

KC in Columbus, Ohio said: Hello all,
I'm in my mid-thirties and considering returning to school for a Med Lab Technican associate 's degree. I have a master's degree and a job, but am unhappy in my current position and there are no jobs in my field. I was wondering if there are others who have become medical lab technicians coming at it from this non-traditional angle.

I'm particularly interested in med lab tech because it seems that there are actually job opportunities and that I would be able to work second shift (which I prefer) and not bring work home with me. I have no experience in medicine or science. Any suggestions for how to get some experience in this field? I plan to enroll in basic bio and chem classes this spring.