Self Learning Medical Transcription

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (19)

Valerie in Toronto, Ontario

86 months ago

Greetings everyone,

I am about to venture into medical transcription field, but would like a few opinions first.

I have 7 years of experience in administrative tasks, clerical duties, customer service, billing, spreadsheets and all that sort of thing you do at the office.

For various reasons, I need to work from home and it will be that way for a little while, so for the time being, I'm starting out with the online jobs and marketing myself as a virtual assistant to offer service to small business. At the same time, I want to self-learn medical transcription.

The reasons for that are very simple. I cannot afford online courses or financing for community college. Since I have to keep working and generating income, I don't want to commit to an academic program. I have a lot of things going on in my life and it wouldn't be wise to add another stressor. I just think that if I start this slowly and on my own, i'll eventually get somewhere someday!!!!

So!!!! What I really want to ask is, first of all, is it feasible given the experience i already have. I say if I was to take a medical terminology test right at this moment, i would score 50%. So i have have another 50% worth of knowledge to learn on my own. My typing right now is between 60-70 wpm, depending on my day. Now, if it is feasible, given that i will self studying this, what are the core basics i really needs to know to say that i can even do transcription.
My goal is to be able to bring myself to a point where I can feel confident enough to try to volunteer my service as a starter and build my references based on that. From what I can gather from what i've read about medical transcription, it really seems to be all about experience and practice once you get through understanding medical language.