Masters in counseling? pros cons? job ideas?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (3)

AUTIGER12 in Birmingham, Alabama

16 months ago

Hello everyone,

I graduated from college last spring with a BA in Psychology. I have been looking for a jobfor almost a year. I have applied for a variety of jobs, i have skills in marketing, customer service, child care, just a variety. I didn't really set any kind of career specific plans with my degree and now major frustration has set in.

Due to being extremely unhappy at my full time day care job (unhappy is putting it nicely, i was completely misreable, stayed sick the entire time) I decided to begin to puruse a masters in clinical and mental health counseling. In all honesty I am unsure if this is for me. I have always wanted to be a counselor but I do not want to work as a case manager. I have been told by my professors that you can in fact make it as a counselor but you have to make your own way. I am really nervous and unsure about what I am doing. So I was wondering if anyone had any suggestions or experience or ideas about what I can do? Pros, cons etc?

Thanks everyone

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

georgewduke in Upper Marlboro, Maryland

16 months ago