New LO working for big call center, make change to direct lender from home?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (4)

Slush Puppy King in Jacksonville, Florida

38 months ago

I started working for a big lender here in Jacksonville that is the private label solution for some bigger name banks. I'm a complete newbie, started late November 2010. So this company has introduced me to mortgages and paid for me to get licensed in 25 states. It's a pretty easy job. Calls come in from various business sources and I take apps and register loans. I'm averaging about 15 closed loans per month. The big dogs here are closing about 35+ loans a month.

Average payout per loan: $135
Base salary: $24k/year
Normal bank hours: 40 hour work week

So far this has been a "good" job, but I don't feel very challenged and can't help but wonder if there is a way to make more money in this industry. Of course I am new so I don't nearly have the experience or resources to go out there and just drum up my own business.

I saw a craigslist posting and responded. It's a direct lender looking for loan originators. The guy I spoke with was impressed that I had 25 licenses and offered me the opportunity to work for his company as a loan originator.

The offer is this:
Setup a virtual office for me at home
Provide me with 3-5 leads daily
2% commission per loan that closes

So....yeah sounds pretty amazing but since I am new to this my caution lights are flashing. He is offering all this to me at NO COST. Of course there is no base salary offered all, but 2% per loan? My average loan amount I close now is about 200k. So that's like $4000 per loan. More than I make a month now currently....and that is just 1 loan!

What am I missing here?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

Smart guy in Sioux Falls, South Dakota

37 months ago