Training for an entry-level job?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (3)

Brian Gates in Olympia, Washington

79 months ago

I have an Associate's Degree from a two-year community college. It is not technology related.

At the beginning of this year I debated between entering a paralegal program and a network administration program. Both last one year. I ended up going with the paralegal thing and it turned out to be a huge f*ckign mistake from hell. Now I want to do the network admin thing, but it doesn't start again until September, which sucks.

My question is, can I get an entry-level job, such as a help desk job, if I study on my own and obtain the certs on my own? If so, can anybody suggest training materials to use, as well as what certs I should aim for?

Any info would be appreciated...

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (5) / No (2) Reply - Report abuse

Arnaldo De Jesus in Virginia Beach, Virginia

75 months ago

Brian Gates in Olympia, Washington said: I have an Associate's Degree from a two-year community college. It is not technology related.

At the beginning of this year I debated between entering a paralegal program and a network administration program. Both last one year. I ended up going with the paralegal thing and it turned out to be a huge f*ckign mistake from hell. Now I want to do the network admin thing, but it doesn't start again until September, which sucks.

My question is, can I get an entry-level job, such as a help desk job, if I study on my own and obtain the certs on my own? If so, can anybody suggest training materials to use, as well as what certs I should aim for?

Any info would be appreciated...