Frustrated/Jobless/Graduate Nurse

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (2)

RN in Wilmington, Delaware

50 months ago

Hi everyone! I recently graduated this May, 2010 with my ADN. I have applied to many hospitals, nursing homes, rehabs, doctors offices, clinics, and home health agencies. I have landed 2 interviews in two hospitals, however, I was not hired. To give you an idea of my experience: patient care tech in critical care for 4 years, and nurse extern for 1 year. In addition, I have certification in phlebo, EKG. In 5 years of employment, I have never missed 1 day of work, never been late. I speak fluent english, proficient in spanish, and fluent in german. Also, I forgot to mention that I am a male graduate nurse. To date, I have sent approx 300 applications since May, 2010 and have not had any luck. What happened to the nursing shortage? Do we have too many New Grads? Nursing homes and home health even want experience now. LOL. How is a new grad supposed to get experience then? I'm very frustrated. I never thought that a RN would have a problem finding employment. Any suggestion would be great. Thank You for you help.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No (2) Reply - Report abuse

Jason in Covington, Ohio

50 months ago