Nurse Coders

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (51 to 93 of 93)
Page:  « Previous   1  2   

nursebethat in Eagle River, Alaska

48 months ago

awsmom in Bakersfield, California said: I am new to researching coding and was not familiar with the term CPC. Nurses in Bakersfield start at about $23.00 hr day shift. LA County pays a little more. Then you get night shift differential and once you specialize (ICU,Surgery}.
Think twice before becoming an RN. There has never been a nursing shortage--just nurses fed up working under poor management and tired of hospitals BS. Look up how many RN's are in any given state and how many are actually working as an RN and you will see a large disparity. Rather than improving working conditions, employers would rather shout, "Nursing Shortage" in order to allow foreign nurses to be imported. The last study I read stated 50% of RN in the USA were foreign born. Foreign nurses generally do not rock the boat, are not assertive and will work under any conditions, which help keep wages lower. Nope, never been a nursing shortage, just a shortage of nurses working! There are HUNDREDS of new nursing graduates right now that are unable to get jobs, even in LTC. And hospitals are now laying off RN's due to low census. And you would fit right in--nurses are notorious for eating their young!

Th

Great answer...you are right...she meets the criteria..my husband says, thats why nurses dont progress professionally...very caddy profession compared to PA, Dentist, optometrists.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (2) / No Reply - Report abuse

RN in Cambridge, Massachusetts

44 months ago

Melony in Palmdale, California said: My post specifically says I am a CPC medical coder. Please read before you respond to something. This is a nursing board, not a board to ask about becoming a coder. thanks.