RN or MLT

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (9)

rick in Tucson, Arizona

50 months ago

should I go to nursing school or be an MLT (medical laboratory technician)??? MLT pays significantly less (about 16.00-18.00/hour to start), but has zero patient contact.

Off the top of my head, I would say patient contact would not bother me, but I have never experienced it first hand. I worked in a lab and I didn't really like it or thought it was OK at best. I didn't like being stuck on the bench all day.

Oh, and I don't have time to be a LVN or PCT first - I need to pick one or the other in like the next few weeks.

thanks

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No (1) Reply - Report abuse

Cris in Annandale, Virginia

50 months ago

hey rick, great question! I am started to think of that too not too long ago. Why not something in between? Like a MT, medical technician which cross trains with phlebotomy and lab stuff? So that way you two of both worlds. I am a phlebotomist now and was exposed to the lab and thought it was really cool. But you are right, I like to move around and walk/run, so I liked going to inpatient and outpatient settings. Have you thought of something else besides that? PA? perhaps?

rick in Tucson, Arizona said: should I go to nursing school or be an MLT (medical laboratory technician)??? MLT pays significantly less (about 16.00-18.00/hour to start), but has zero patient contact.

Off the top of my head, I would say patient contact would not bother me, but I have never experienced it first hand. I worked in a lab and I didn't really like it or thought it was OK at best. I didn't like being stuck on the bench all day.

Oh, and I don't have time to be a LVN or PCT first - I need to pick one or the other in like the next few weeks.

thanks

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (1) / No Reply - Report abuse

shannon in Mandeville, Louisiana

50 months ago