Lifting Policy In Nursing Homes

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (23)

Jennifer in Lexington, Kentucky

81 months ago

I don't work in a nursing home, but I work in a hospital and you are never expected to transfer by yourself if you don't feel comfortable. They don't want you to hurt yourself. However, I just finished a clinical rotation at a rehab hospital and the nurses and aides did transfer by themselves, but presumably they had special training in transferring and with sliding boards, etc. I personally do not feel comfortable transferring alone, for the safety of my patient and myself. I think you did the right thing. The nurse or the other aide could have been more helpful and showed you the way they did it, if there was a safe way for it to be done with one assist.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (19) / No (10) Reply - Report abuse

jan calloway in Cottondale, Florida

81 months ago

there is so many lazy cna's out there! All they want to do is make you look bad so they can shine. the residents knows who is good to them and who isn't. That is really what matters. Let them laugh, but all the nasty cna's and nurses will pay in the long run. It's sad when you have to cover your ass all the time because of underhanded people who really could care less.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (21) / No (7) Reply - Report abuse

vicky in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

78 months ago

We as c.n.a all over the country need to do a walk out.
and demand more respect, and more pay a c.n.a with experance should get $14 an our because the agencys and nursing homes are getting big bucks the LPN ARE GETTING $20 TO $30 A HOUR we did go to school and we did receive a certificate, a lot of nurses look down on us some places you work they dont'want to even speak to us, only if they need us to do somthing for them,they treat us like we are just dumb and stupid It's time for us to stop being afraid and stick together and raise HELL!