Becoming a Paralegal

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (3)

Packer fan in Cambridge, Massachusetts

48 months ago

I'm a recent college graduate where I earned a bachelors in Poli Sci and Econ. I want to go to law school, but finances are slowing me down right now. I also want to make sure its something I want to do before I spend the money on it. I've heard from several lawyers I've talked to that I should do paralegal work first.

Is being a paralegal a good way to determine if I want to become an attorney? Is paralegal work hard to find?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

Unemployed Paralegal in Denver, Colorado

48 months ago

Yes, at least where I live, paralegal work is hard to find. It's hard to find even for experienced paralegals.

The recession caused firms to downsize. Firms shed many well qualified and highly talented legal staff. Even attorneys weren't spared. Those that remained had to change their ways. Old-school attorneys, who were accustomed to having legal secretary and paralegal support, had to learn how to do more with less - and IMO came to like it because it cut expenses. In the meantime, so many paralegals, who depend on attorneys for work, were left out in the cold.

Finally, if you have your heart set on becoming an attorney you can forego paralegal and go directly to law school. IMO you don't need the extra student loan debt. Before you decide how to proceed, research attorney hiring. You may find that attorneys, and especially fresh ones, are not finding jobs. In the meantime they have as much as $100K+ in student loan debt staring them in the face.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (1) / No Reply - Report abuse

BG in Carlsbad, California

48 months ago

Many lawyers and law firms are being replaced by legal software, outsourcing and inexpensive internet based legal services.