Case Management Methods

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (7)

Philhelm in Overland Park, Kansas

48 months ago

I know this is a jobs forum, but I was wondering if I could get any suggestions here.

I work as a paralegal (with slightly over one year of experience) in a small immigration firm with only two attorneys and myself. There was a case that fell through the cracks a bit, and while it was not a catostrophic deadline, we would like to create a better system. To that end, one of the attorneys asked me to devise a better system.

The problem is that he is against the idea of purchasing case management software. Granted, we have a software subscription to INSZoom, which is specific for immigration law, but we mostly use it for form preparation . The problem is that it is perhaps the most cumbersome software that I have ever encountered, and I am not convinced that its case management functions would be efficient.

The other option is Microsoft Outlook; we already have a task list to keep track of current cases, but the attorney, who is not computer savvy at all, simply does not like it. He doesn't know how to use MS Excel, so that is out as well.

Even our directory of case files on the server is completely defunct. Hundreds of files, all poorly organized (seriously, they need to be organized by client name, not case type), make it even more cumbersome to deal with. Furthermore, the senior attorney is resistant to any changes that would ultimately make things run more smoothly.

I am an INTJ by personality type (for those who are familiar with such designations), and it irks me to no end to see so many things that can be drastically improved upon if the attorneys were more open to change.

In any case, I'm starting to digress, so the bottom line is what is the best way to implement case management? I had suggested case management software, which was rejected. Can Outlook really suffice? I feel like my hands are tied.