Does anyone like being a paralegal?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (1 to 50 of 206)
Page:   1  2  3  4  Next »   Last »

E.S. in Olney, Illinois

63 months ago

I'm 28 years old, and at a point in my life where I need to get serious about starting a career. I don't really have any marketable skills, despite having a B.A. in English Lit. I'm torn between pursuing a Master of Arts in teaching, or earning a paralegal certificate. I'm not crazy about either, to be honest, but I'm eager to start my life (if that makes any sense).

As an undergraduate, I was preparing myself for law school. I went through some difficult times, which caused my gpa to plunge, and basically put law school out of reach. I assume that being a paralegal is the closest I could get to being a lawyer, for the moment.

I just want a job with some stability, or at least a job in a field where positions are plentiful (I should add, I live in Chicago).

So, anyway, I was wondering; are there any paralegals here who actually enjoy their work, or have something positive to say about the profession? I intend no offense at all to those disillusioned with their careers; I am just wondering if there is any good in it.

Thanks in advance.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (66) / No (11) Reply - Report abuse

kmm in Wilmington, Delaware

63 months ago

You have already paid money for your B.A. In today's economic climate there is a high percentage of college graduates who are not going to find employment. Period.

Before dumping down more money on education that, due to the economic climate, there is no certainty it will give you anymore leverage.

At 28, you must have a job. What are you doing now? 28 is going on 30, and at 30 you need/want to have a career. I get it.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (29) / No (84) Reply - Report abuse

E.S. in Olney, Illinois

63 months ago

Thank you for your replies. Getting a paralegal's point of view is extremely helpful.