Not sure which program to start, please help!

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (6)

fmavila05 in Sacramento, California

26 months ago

Recently I've been looking into going through a program to become a paralegal. I graduated from UC San Diego a year ago majoring in Urban Studies and Planning with a minor in Political Science. Now I'm back in Northern California (though not in Sacramento, about an hour south) and there are no paralegal programs within a reasonable distance that are ABA approved. I've come across a University of the Pacific online paralegal program (along with a couple others) and I was wondering, would doing an online program coupled with my B.A. be enough to overcome any disadvantages of not going to an ABA approved school?

Any help is appreciated.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (1) / No (6) Reply - Report abuse

MS in Dallas, Texas

26 months ago

Don't bother. Just try and get a job with a solo, stay a couple of years and then apply for larger law firms. It doesn't sound like you are in any kind of major metro area where there are the better law firms (in terms of size) that might care about a certificate of any kind. The job placement percentage for students "graduating" from paralegal schools is quite low anyway. Don't take on the debt. It's not worth it.

Did you look at the legal job postings for law firms in your area to see what they are asking for as far as requirements?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (6) / No (10) Reply - Report abuse

BG in Carlsbad, California

26 months ago

If a paralegal with experience can't find work what makes you think that you would find any as newbie graduate? I agree with MS, don't take on any debt since it's not worth it. Instead, choose a career that has good job prospects.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (6) / No (10) Reply - Report abuse

fmavila05 in Manteca, California

26 months ago