Getting accepted to a Pathologists Assistant program.

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (3)

Miss Reed in Ormond Beach, Florida

15 months ago

I have recently been looking into this career. It sounds like exactly what I want to do. I'm an undergrad right now and I've taken bio, anatomy, micro, and some other sciences. I still have a few more to take but I attend a regional campus for my university and they don't offer the classes I need. There is a state college in my area that does so I thought about taking them there. I just don't know if taking classes from a state college as opposed to a university will make a difference when compared to other applicants. I mean chemistry is chemistry I wouldn't think it varies too much. I just don’t want to hurt my chances of getting accepted… Any advice on this??

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (1) / No Reply - Report abuse

MD_PA in Millersville, Maryland

15 months ago

By state college do you mean like a community college? As long as your class fulfills the prerequisite requirements it shouldn't be a problem. I took a few prereqs as a post-bach at community college and got accepted into a program before I had even finished all of the classes. Then again, it also helps if you do well in your classes.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (1) / No Reply - Report abuse

yellowpens in Portland, Oregon

14 months ago

I don't think pathA programs care so much about where you take your classes.. as long as you do well and have a well-rounded application. Make sure to get in some hours shadowing/ volunteering/ working in pathology (either with a pathologist or a pathA) as well as some community service.