Path. Assistant Program Acceptance Statistics?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (5)

KWiese in Omaha, Nebraska

5 months ago

I'm a Junior student and am preparing to start applying to Path. Assistant programs next winter. I was hoping anyone who has gone through one of the programs could enlighten me about what a competitive GPA for these programs would be? Also, how much shadowing experience would set me apart from others? How many programs did you apply to? Did you do any research in undergrad? And also, how many students do PA programs typically accept? There's not a whole lot of information to be found online about theses programs so if you have any insight, it would be greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance. Cheers!

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

MeisieMae in Omaha, Nebraska

5 months ago

Hi KWiese. I am from Omaha also! I was accepted into the pathologist’s assistant program at RFUM a few months ago.
GPA- In my experience the average GPA was around 3.00. I didn’t ask the other students I interview with, but mine was over that number.
Research- I have about 400+ hours as a research assistant at university laboratories.
Shadowing -I have spent about 40 hours shadowing Pathologists Assistants at UNMC and Methodist hospitals here in Omaha. I also spent about 10 hours shadowing other related fields.
Schools – I only applied to RFUM, I was planning on applying to other but I was accepted before I finished my other applications. RFUM takes the most students but many of the programs take from 2-12.
Any other questions?

KWiese in Omaha, Nebraska

5 months ago