Alternative Careers in Pharmacy

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (1 to 50 of 185)
Page:   1  2  3  4  Next »   Last »

akshay in Calgary, Alberta

88 months ago

iam a bpharm graduate from india.i have 7 years experience in working as a pharmacist .i came here in april.what jobs i get here without getting licence.how to get certificates from alberta college of pharmacy.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (51) / No (18) Reply - Report abuse

Lovely Irene Garcia in Davao, Philippines

67 months ago

kirs in Vancouver, Washington said: I graduated in 2007 and have had the same retail experience as most of you have described.. with the occasional robbery! I felt frustrated with working evenings and weekends.. I am now working in mail order.. which I find very boring, but its a day job and much less stressful. I spent time looking at other careers and was considering a PA license.. the program is 1 year and would probably not be too difficult to get in after having a pharmacist license. I am also considering a residency, but am unsure of the hospital pharmacist needs in my area.. I can't believe how dissapointed I am with my degree..

You shouldn’t be disappointed because according to an article I read the pharmacist pay rate based on experience ranges from:

YEARS OF EXPERIENCE SALARY RANGE
Less than 1 year $67,659 – $99,926
1-4 years $68,613 - $101,073
5-9 years $83,439 – $101,601
10-19 years $87,746 – $109,413
20 years and above $93,475 – $118,965

Now the top 3 cities that give high paying rate to pharmacist are
• Houston
• Dallas
• Los angeles

With regards to different state, the top 3 highest are the following
• Texas
• Illinois
• Florida

You should check your State Department of Labor for job opportunities and if there are none, may be it's time to leave home and go somewhere else to establish a career.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (9) / No (17) Reply - Report abuse

murray in Oradell, New Jersey

64 months ago