CPhT- Frustrated and Disappointed!!!

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (26)

RichardsAshleyC in Clayton, Michigan

15 months ago

Is it just me or does it seem like a total waste of time and energy to obtain a CPhT? I enrolled in a vocational school in May of 2012, spent seven months there obtaining my PTCB-sponsored CPhT and accompanying First Aid and CPR and HIPAA certificates... A very successful six-week externship at a Cleveland-area Walgreen's... A year after enrolling, six months after externship and graduation... Over a hundred job apps in various fields between two states... Multiple resume and app submissions at hospitals and pharmacies... Multiple pharmacy interviews...
AND NO JOB!!! ANYWHERE!!! AT ALL!!!
I have several years of work experience, some education, a solid and great-looking resume, cover letter, and reference sheet... I know I interview and present myself very well...
I WANT A JOB! PREFERABLY IN THE AREA I WENT TO SCHOOL FOR!
AND TO TOP IT OFF... Upon enrolling in the Pharm Tech program, we had to research up to five different positions as Techs and in up to five different locations... All the research I did at the time indicated that I would have a reasonably easy time finding a Tech job (within perhaps a month or two after graduating), in most any major metropolitan area... And that I'd be entry-level at about $12-$14 per hour!
WRONG!!!
After all has been said and done, I have discovered that whether you are in a major and also very healthcare-focused city like Cleveland, or in a small rural area like Adrian, MI (where I now live), there seem to be next to no Pharm Tech opportunities, ESPECIALLY for entry-level candidates. To top it off, most retail will base at about $8- MAYBE $10 per hour. And just as a final slap in the face, during my externship, I discovered that ANY Joe or Jane off the street can also get a Tech job. Isn't that a little infuriating?