Is anyone happy with their job as a pharmacy tech?

Comments (9)

liltrotter in Bristol, Virginia

12 months ago

Just finishing my pharmacy tech course-but all I read is how people hate their job.
is there anyone happy with their job. Need to hear encouragement from those who have positive things to say about the field for those of us entering.

Mississippian in Cleveland, Mississippi

11 months ago

I've been a pharmacy tech for just over a year now and haven't had a problem with it so far. Sure, the pay could be better, but it could be worse. From reading some of the responses on here, I suppose I'm one of the lucky ones.

I never took courses for it, I just bought a book and read it from front to back. Took the excpt test after about a month of studying and passed it on the first go. I sent off for my registration and began applying everywhere except places like Walmart, Walgreens, CVS, etc. Before the registration even went through, I received two job offers: part time at a hospital @ $13.50/hr, and full time at a specialty pharmacy @ $11.50/hr. I went with my gut and started at the specialty pharmacy. Just after a year of experience, I'm over $16/hr, though I highly doubt it'll keep climbing this quickly.

My job is fairly easy, as long as you are good with your hands so that you can work aseptically . I spend all night making PCAs, Intravia bags, syringes, and cassettes in a clean room. I get overtime from time to time and there's no shortage of work. The only stress is making sure I don't mess up your aseptic technique or screw up your documentation. I don't deal with customers, thankfully.

I can say I'm happy with my job, for now.

Just don't forget to look down the road when you start. Find a good company or hospital and find what you will need to move up in it. Pharmacy tech is basically the grunt of the pharmacy field, so don't expect too much out of it early on, but it is as good of a place as any to get your foot in the door.