Thinking of a 2 year Pharmacy Tech program? Waste of time, money, and heres why....

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (151 to 162 of 162)
Page:  « Previous   1  2  3  4   

Rpharm in Surrey, British Columbia

30 months ago

I am a pharmacist and I agree that many of them take advantage of their position and make the techs do all the work. This is a result of the fact that corporations own most pharmacies, not pharmacists. Corporations make their decisions on pure profit and don't have a feel for what goes on in the front lines. If they could have their way, they would hire all techs at minimum wage and no pharmacists. But due to law, a pharmacist is required to check and counsel on prescriptions, therefore they have to hire them. I'm noticing more these days that many big chains are increasing the ratio of techs to pharmacists due to cost savings. Plus they have lobbied universities to increase class sizes for pharmacists, thereby undermining the value of the pharmacist and making them "a dime a dozen", just like techs. But corporations won't pass those savings on to the worker bee techs. They'll just fatten the pockets of the corporate heads and shareholders. Everyone will be screwed. From my experience, I believe an independent pharmacy treats their technicians much better than chains. Because a pharmacist owns the pharmacy, he/she works just as hard, if not harder, than the techs. And they appreciate and compensate techs more because they see the cash-flow generated by good techs, and it becomes a family atmosphere where everyone gets what they deserve. In a chain, the pharmacist is just another pawn and has no idea of how the money is generated, just that they're entitled to lots of it, so they treat the techs like dirt. If you work with the pharmacy owners, such as an independent, they would think twice about treating a tech like dirt as they risk losing an employee that they've invested in, or at the very least will cr