externship

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (51 to 87 of 87)
Page:  « Previous   1  2   

Alysha in Las Vegas, Nevada

60 months ago

I am still an unemployed tech after completing school,being certified, and completing my externship in March. I am STILL UNEMPLOYED. I have applied EVERYWHERE, every retail and private pharmacy in my area. Hospitals all require experience, most want 2 years, some 1 year. It's really depressing I guess it does have to do with the economy and all but who knows when it will get better and I wish I was able to have the practice, now its been so long since I got out of school, I don't want that to hurt me in the future. So now I have resorted to looking for any job I can get, which still has been very tough. I agree that if you know someone who can get you into a hospital or retail pharmacy, then you should be fine, otherwise it's pretty tough right now. If it weren't for my boyfriend, I'd be homeless.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (4) / No (1) Reply - Report abuse

ptcb_tutor@yahoo.com in Danville, California

60 months ago

SDguy in San Diego, California said: Kim. Thanks for the insight. I'll keep what you said in mind. My bachelor's is in teaching (history) and the market for that kind of job is crap. That's why I was considering another field. Well, I hope things work out for you as well. Good luck.

Hi, I know this post is old, but I wanted to let you know, that if you have a BA (in anything) you should consider going to Pharmacy School to be a Pharmacist. That's where the money is! lol
You will have to complete all the pre-requisites in science and math, but honestly that is what I would do.
I am in the process of completing my BA and then i will apply to Pharmacy School. I have been a tech for 23 years.
If you are interested in Pharmacy School, you will need to have some experience in pharmacy, even as a cashier is good.
Good luck!