pharmacy tech math help

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (4)

Sam in Plano, Texas

15 months ago

i'm studying the math right now and i'm studying various books and in one particular book i am studying, i am having trouble. i found it odd that this kind of problem was not present in the other books in my possession, or maybe it was worded differently. regardless, i do not quite understand the wording of the problem and i was hoping that someone could help me in explaining the steps.

If a pharmacist had ten 1-liter stock bottles of each of the ingredients, how many times could the following prescription be filled?
Rx
Codeine sulfate solution 5ml
simple syrup USP ad 10ml
Sig. 5 ml as required for cough

I don't quite understand what the ten 1-liter stock bottles means in this problem. Also, I saw that this problem was answered in a previous thread but I didn't understand the math. If anyone could help me with this, I would greatly appreciate it!

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

Joe Medina in Denver, Colorado

15 months ago

Sam in Plano, Texas said: i'm studying the math right now and i'm studying various books and in one particular book i am studying, i am having trouble. i found it odd that this kind of problem was not present in the other books in my possession, or maybe it was worded differently. regardless, i do not quite understand the wording of the problem and i was hoping that someone could help me in explaining the steps.

If a pharmacist had ten 1-liter stock bottles of each of the ingredients, how many times could the following prescription be filled?
Rx
simple syrup USP ad 10ml

I don't quite understand what the ten 1-liter stock bottles means in this problem. Also, I saw that this problem was answered in a previous thread but I didn't understand the math. If anyone could help me with this, I would greatly appreciate it!

--------------