How do you like being a PT?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (6)

valgal in Port Townsend, Washington

35 months ago

I'm 21, I've been researching all possible health care jobs for years. I just want to have a job where I'm helping people and not have to deal with smells, bodily fluids etc. like a nurse.

I've been to many PTs in my life because 1. I have a chronic pain disorder and 2. I'm VERY injury prone. I can't run 200 feet without injuring tendons.

Believe me this is NOT the first time nor the last time that I research PT. Reasons I turned it down and moved on to something else was because I'm kinda shy and I don't feel I have enough confidence to touch patients in the way PTs do or mimic some of the exercises. But I've had PTs that just tell me to do something and walk away. I don't know if that is the norm or what.

I've also heard that schooling can be difficult. I'm not good with academics, but I was seriously considering becoming a respiratory therapist and I know that isn't easy. So if I want it bad enough I can make it happen, maybe. I do have minor learning disabilities.

Tell me what the challenges are of being a PT, what you like the most/least, what I should look for in a school, and what your hours are like.

I do have a passion for health and fitness and almost became a personal trainer.

Thanks!

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (26) / No (8) Reply - Report abuse

34 months ago

Wow, okay