Females and Home Health

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (8)

Newly Licensed PTA in Austin, Texas

20 months ago

Hi there,

This is a question for all the ladies in the house, specifically those who have worked in the field of home health as a PTA. Simple question: Do you think its safe to be a female and work in the home health setting? Have you ever run across any situations where you didn't feel safe?

Thanks, look forward to what you have to say about this!

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

bluelineman in McKinney, Texas

19 months ago

Im not a woman but I am in home health & work with mostly women. I wouldnt worry about it. If you feel unsafe when you get somewhere, just call the office & tell them you arent going there.

bray1 in Kentucky

19 months ago

Hi, I am also a female and have an interview soon with a home health company. I graduated last year so only 6-7 months of OP experience but am wanting to work just 2 days a week since I have a special needs kid at home. My question has to do with pay and "per visit" or "hourly"...which should I ask for and does it make a difference, and how much should I be asking for? I have seen discussions on this board saying the going rate is $40-50 but is that per visit? Or hourly? I am really wanting this opportunity to work out because of the flexibility that I need. But I do not want to sell myself short. But on the other hand, I do not want to come in asking for way too much since I do not have HH experience yet. Any ideas??

bray1 in Kentucky

19 months ago

Just re-read my comment...I guess being a female doesn't have anything to do with my post, lol. Also this is for PTA, I didn't clarify that :)

19 months ago