My experience, current PTA student, Please ask any questions about it

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (7)

PTA student in Chesterfield, Missouri

19 months ago

Before starting PTA school I have been a Licensed Massage Therapist for 4 years. I went to Western States Chiropractic College and received a rigorous education, I passed the national exam three months before graduating school. I have attended several colleges and have no bachelor degree and my GPA average is 3.0. My GPA average for anatomy and physiology, kinesiology, medical terminology, and pathology is 3.25.
I applied to a community college program here in MO last year and was told it was a 3 year wait. I got in starting the fall of the same year I applied (I waited 6 months) and was easily accepted with my credentials listed above. So when I read on this forum about people with bachelor degrees with 3.5 GPA's being wait listed or not getting into programs makes me wonder what kind of "soft" skills these people possess. Soft skills are mainly communication skills. You can be brain smart, but if your not people smart healthcare isn't going to work for you. I think that's why I have never had a problem being accepted to any school I've ever applied to for any program. I left the program on the first day of class because the program director was very condescending about the role of PTA (she was a PT). So I didn't need that negative transference being handed to me for two years.
I applied to a private school and took the HESI exam, filled out letters of recommendation, etc. I was accepted right away from speaking to the program director the same day and I hadn't even sent my transcripts! Lesson for those reading, SOFT SKILLS MATTER! It's all about communication and how people view you and communicating your experience and dedication to excellence in patient care.