What are the best pilot qualifications and training to get ahead?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (11)

Host

What is the best training for becoming a pilot? What types of ongoing training or certifications are necessary to be an effective pilot?

What do non-traditional career paths look like?

Reply - Report abuse

gagandeep in Glenroy, Australia

101 months ago

no idea

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (1) / No (10) Reply - Report abuse

IH8Attys in Los Angeles, California

93 months ago

Displaced Legal Professional in Denver, Colorado said: I am here because I was a pilot and flight instructor before I went into law. I am still interested in professional aviation.

Minimum credentials for becoming a pilot are a Commercial Pilot Certificate with single, multiengine and instrument ratings. Flight and ground instructor certificates are extremely helpful. Pilot training is offered at flight schools, fixed-based operators, aviation colleges and at small airports. One logs about 250 flight hours, more or less with more being the rule, during training.

Two hundred fifty hours are entry-level for pilots. Flight instructing is the traditional entry-level job. Advanced jobs require more experience. One generally builds that experience through increasingly advanced flying jobs.

A four-year college degree is vital to a piloting career.

Of course, airlines employ pilots. The government, corporations, charter companies, etc. also employ pilots. Right now, regional airlines are busily recruiting new-hire pilots. Regional flight time requirements have plunged considerably in the past couple of years.

Last and certainly not least, the whims of the economy directly impact pilot opportunities. Pilot hiring can be brisk in a strong economy. When a recession hits, the door slams shut abruptly and may not open again for several years.