Trying to jump from Automotive design to Piping design, can it be done ?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (4)

cw in MI in Clinton Township, Michigan

72 months ago

Wondering how tough it is to crossover from the automotive design industry to the Piping design industry. I've been an automotive designer for 17 years, mostly plastics some metal forming tooling. Started fresh running blueprints , then worked my way onto the drafting board and now can run 3 systems (Catia V5,SDRC, and Unigraphics.) Well the automotive design industry is drying up (at least in the US)and even bouncing state to state isn't helping. I found out about this career and would love to move into it. I'm already enrolled in a PDS course that starts in a month. I know it's a word of mouth thing in the auto biz , is it the same in the pipers biz ? Will I run into a lot of road blocks ? When I started designing , degree's were not needed so I never earned one. Is this going to be an issue ?

Thanks

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

Pierce

71 months ago

cw in MI in Clinton Township, Michigan said: Wondering how tough it is to crossover from the automotive design industry to the Piping design industry. I've been an automotive designer for 17 years, mostly plastics some metal forming tooling. Started fresh running blueprints , then worked my way onto the drafting board and now can run 3 systems (Catia V5,SDRC, and Unigraphics.) Well the automotive design industry is drying up (at least in the US)and even bouncing state to state isn't helping. I found out about this career and would love to move into it. I'm already enrolled in a PDS course that starts in a month. I know it's a word of mouth thing in the auto biz , is it the same in the pipers biz ? Will I run into a lot of road blocks ? When I started designing , degree's were not needed so I never earned one. Is this going to be an issue ?

Thanks