Working outside of major petro-chemical areas

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (2)

bbg in Houston, Texas

48 months ago

I am currently studying ptech and lab tech at a commuinty college. I already have a bacholears' degree, but it does not directly apply to working in a plant. I also have a strong network of people involved in the industry from operators, contractors, engineers over operators, and ptech instructors. I trying my hardest to get some experience before I am a ptech grad, but I am getting no where. Three years ago without any degree I made it to the final round of interviews (last 50 out of 1000+) at a major chemical plant for an operator posistion. Now I just want any type of work in a plant, it doesn't need to be as an operator. I have had professional help me rewrite my resume and cover letter. I have a TWIC card. I have a 3.5 GPA for my ptech and lab tech studies. I talk to industry people, and they tell me I am a great example of they want operators.

Well, instead of competing with all the expierenced operators around here I am thinking about looking else where. For example, I have worked some in New Mexico a few years ago (not at a chemical plant) and a quick search revealed there is quite a few jobs out there. Plus, most of the jobs do not require a ptech degree. I don't believe NM has a ptech school, so maybe that is why they don't require degrees.

So, have any of yall ever moved away from the major petro-chemical area to find work? Was it easier to find a job? If I do find a job out in NM will my experience help me in a major petro-chemical area (IE Houston area)?

Also any helpful advice for landing some work in the plants before my studies are completed?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

Jman in Bellflower, California

47 months ago