Unemployed radiation therapist

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (14)

karebear78 in Bloomington, Indiana

41 months ago

I am an unemployed radiation therapist going on 2yrs since graduating from my program back in August 2009
Although I have been working on a prn basis since March 2010..it truly is not the same as f/t experience when you're applying. It's a little hard faking the smile and remaining upbeat around co-workers when there is no end in sight with the unemployment going around in all sectors. It's a tough pill to swallow when you have co-workers praising you and telling you.."you're so great, you will get a job soon enough, just hang in there". I just want to yell "how the hell do you know, you at least has a full time job with financial stability where you can afford to support your family" Even our medical director has said to put his name down as a reference which I most definitely do on my applications and yet still no response. The main reason being is that I only have prn experience which is by no means a choice but I guess a luxury compared to many who have no experience. To make it even worse, I have applied endlessly to non-radiation therapy jobs and have had 3 interviews in the past, but they won't hire me because of my potential to leave should a full time therapy job opens up. I guess I would like to hear from others who are in my situation or who were in my situation and how did you get out of this rut and what actions did you take to set yourself apart from the rest of the pack!
any and all are welcomed to make a statement

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (2) / No (3) Reply - Report abuse

Shiloh Litton in Clarksville, Pennsylvania

41 months ago

karebear78 in Bloomington, Indiana said: I am an unemployed radiation therapist going on 2yrs since graduating from my program back in August 2009