AAS vs. Bachelors

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (1 to 50 of 60)
Page:   1  2  Next »   Last »

Samantha in Rochester, Minnesota

82 months ago

I already have a bachelor's degree and am looking into RRT as a career change. I am wondering if I get an AAS in RT will that be good enough to get a good job or do i need another bachlor's? Does anyone else have a similar experience?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (136) / No (15) Reply - Report abuse

Samantha in Rochester, Minnesota

82 months ago

thanks for your comment! I really appreciate it!

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (5) / No Reply - Report abuse

Paul Myler in Peculiar, Missouri

81 months ago

I am continuing my education as an A.A.S. in Respiratory Care.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (3) / No (5) Reply - Report abuse

Hollie in Tacoma, Washington

81 months ago

I am a recent RT graduate, My advice is to go through the program. During your second year in the program you can work as an equipment tech or even be placed in a internship position. Once you graduate you will have a associates in Respiratory. You are then eligible for the Certification exam. Once you pass the CRT you are eligible for the Registry Exam. This is a 2 part exam; clinical simulation and written. You will need to pass both to become registered. It doesn't make a difference in the kind of work you do as a therapist but it does give you a higher rate of pay. I am a RRT take all the exams close together and I highly recommend taking the Kettering prep. course which is usually offered at graduation time. I'm thinking of going for my BA in Resp right now but from what I have learned it does not matter what your BA is in only that you have one. I was also told that having a BA isn't really necessary unless you are planning on going into management or teaching. Either way more education can't hurt. So good luck with your endeavers!! You will love RT.