Job opportunities/ advice for RRT in North Texas

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (5)

Paul in Irving, Texas

12 months ago

I am a RRT in Dallas tx. I graduated from school in 2010 and haven't been able to get a job in respiratory care anywhere! I currently am working as a sleep tech because I was told that my experience there would count at a local staffing agency but have found out after doing my year that what I was told wasn't true.

I am finding myself in an irritating place that I know a lot of others have experienced but I am out of ideas. I have gotten my CRT, RRT, BLS, ACLS, I got my state licenses up to date but no where will hire me due to lack of experience but yet no where will give me a foot in the door!! I don't want to keep spending money on what seem to be useless certs and classes when it doesn't mean anything to anyone in hospitals at the moment and I don't want to keep doing sleep forever either.

Does anyone have any ideas or places I can turn to? Idk maybe I'm just stuck like everyone else but hell I gotta pay these student loans off eventually so I figure I should keep trying lol!!

Thanks all

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

Mark RCP in Somewhere out there

12 months ago

So trying to understand:
RRT ,live in Dallas area? That whole area as far as I know only hires RRT, so is it the lack of true experience in a hospital or overall all around respiratory experience? Also you work agency and they told you what again? Anyone telling you working in sleep was wrong, now any and most needs for a sleep tech you must have your cert from the NBRC. But then I can understand that you no longer want to work nights etc. I assume you have applied at Baylor, Presbyterian and all the others.