Respiratory Therapy in europe?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (6)

Mark RCP in Texas

77 months ago

MikeModular281 in Hialeah, Florida said: Hello everyone,
My name is Michael. I am a Respiratory Therapy student. I will be graduating within the first quarter of 2012. I am really fascinated in migrating to Europe and would like to work as an RT preferably in the UK. My first language is English, but I also speak Spanish. I keep hitting a dead end because there isn't very much information, that I have found about Respiratory Care field in Europe. I'm curious whether I would qualify to work in any country within the EU, even possibly an agency job. If anyone could share some light on the subject I would be very appreciative.

Thanks,
Mike

From what I have found out there are no use of RT's in Europe. The term they use is Physiotherapist in which they do speech,pt and ot also I read somewhere the nurses also do RT obligations. The use of RT is an American and Canadian area, remember the field is still unknown even in the US and only been around since the 70's. I have and still come across individuals in the Hospital that still have no clue about what we truly do.

- Was this comment helpful?
Reply - Report abuse

MikeModular281 in Satellite Provider

76 months ago

In the research I've done, I recall reading somewhere; that the EU was either in the process, or already put together an organization similar to the NBRC. I did read a job posting through the national healthcare system(NHS) in the UK for what they call a, "clinical respiratory physiologist", after reading the job discription it is equivalent to our respiratory therapists. This is the only knowledge I have gathered after hours of research. I've sent out plenty of emails, to no avail. Thankyou for the input either way, you are correct. It is a very young profession.

Reply - Report abuse

MikeModular281 in Satellite Provider

76 months ago