Rachael Ray's $40 A Day

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (51 to 100 of 121)
Page:  « Previous   1  2  3  Next »   Last »

andrea in Kingsport, Tennessee

60 months ago

YOUR customer care skills serving... in Frisco, Texas said: NEVER complain about the AVG. pay that you knew about before you took the job.

As in any profession, if you don't like the pay don't take the job. Duhhhhh!

UGH NOW DAYS THERE IS NO JOBS AVAILABLE! IM A FULL TIME STUDENT, HAVE A 5 MONTH OLD BABY AN SERVE! U OBVIOUSLY DONTK NOW WHAT COMES ALONG WITH SERVING RUDE PEOPLE LIKE YOU!!!

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (1) / No Reply - Report abuse

andrea in Kingsport, Tennessee

60 months ago

Jess in Santa Fe, New Mexico said: I used to have a "real job" consulting in NYC and made the choice to go into the service industry because I wanted my life to be less stressful. I soon learned that my perception of what it takes to be a waiter was pretty far off. The stressors are definitely different but they're no less real!

One of the biggest realizations I had was that those people with "real jobs" out there aren't held to the same high standards every second of their time at work that servers are. Think about it...if you screw up at work you get some feedback from your boss and then you're given time to improve before there are any repercussions. If you don't improve in the allotted time (usually weeks or even months), you may miss out on a performance award or some other financial incentive and if enough time goes by and you still can't pull it together you may actually lose your job.