Older employees at Nordstrom Rack

Comments (5)

Miguel Liza in Boca Raton, Florida

58 months ago

469i DID NOT THINK IT WOULD HAPPEN TO ME, BUT IT DID. i WENT TO APPLY FOR A SALESPERSON POSITION AT A NEW RACK OPENING IN fLORIDA. i WENT THERE PROFESSIONALLY DRESSED AND WELL GROOMED. i THOUGHT I LOOKED AS BEST AS I COULD FOR AN OLDER PERSON. I HAVE ALMOST 20 YEARS EXPERIENCE IN RETAIL DEPARTMENT STORE. I DO EXACTLY IN MY POSITION NOW THE DUTIES OF WHAT THE POSITION AT THE RACK REQUIRES. THE NEXT DAY AFTER MY FACE TO FACE INTERVIEW I WAS INFORMED THAT I DID NOT GET THE POSITION BECAUSE THEY CHOSE A MORE QUALIFIED CANDIDATE. I WAS SHOCKED. ANYWAY, I AM FOLLOWING UP WITH THIS. IT IS JUST NOT RIGHT. THEY DESERVE A CLASS ACTION SUIT. I MIGHT NEED HELP GETTING THAT GOING. ANY HELP WOULD BE APPRECIATED.

Denise, CST,FA

58 months ago

candlestick in Grand Rapids, Michigan said: Donn'teven consider applying for a sales position at a Nordstrom Rack
outlet store if you are over fourty. I was Terminated for a
store for other reasons but what it came down to was I was
not the in the typical age range for that store. This situation I saw happening to others as well. at times my vacations were cut.And was called into come for no reason.

I am so very sorry to hear that.Unfortunately, there are a lot of jerks out there and many "cliques" that most of us do not fit into.(Not that I would be in anyones clique though) We all deserve a fair change to work and be treated as equals especially when we are doing the job well and doing what is expected of you. That is so hard to prove also. Again, I am so very sorry about that. You will get another job. Meanwhile keep yourself occupied and keep your head up. I know you see that they were "Poison" to be around anyway!

Good Luck and Just keep your head up!

Denise, CST,FA

58 months ago