Starting out...

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (15)

Host

How did you get your start doing safety manager work, and what career moves did you make to get to your current position?

Do you need a particular educational background?

Reply - Report abuse

ricc in San Antonio, Texas

89 months ago

first i earned a B.S in safety. second, it took more than 10years to learn enough to be considered for a manager position. however, i would recommend that if you plan on investing in an education choose some other field. the safety field not all that. we are looked on as just a cost.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (1) / No Reply - Report abuse

Tim in huntsville in Huntsville, Alabama

71 months ago

I started in safety by working in Human Resources. In many small companies, Safety is an HR responsibility. I took the standard OSHA training courses (10 hr and 30 hr). I studied safety manuals to learn all that I could about the field. After a couple of years, I accepted a Safety Engineering Position within the same company.
At that point I decided that further education was in order and I got a Master's degree in Occupational Safety and Health. I continued to attend several different training sessions through the years and have earned a few other certifications. I am currently working on my CSP certification. I hope to have it next year. I now work for a very large firm as a Safety Analyst. I enjoy the work that I do and I think that the Safety Field is my natural calling. But, having worked in the safety field for 8 years now, I can honestly say that 8 years ago I would not have chosen safety if it had not chosen me.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (2) / No Reply - Report abuse

Dave Bridgend in United Kingdom

68 months ago