Getting a social services director job.

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (11)

Host

How did you get your start doing social services director work, and what career moves did you make to get to your current position?

Do you need a particular educational background?

Reply - Report abuse

Cynthia in Dayton, Ohio

83 months ago

I have been a social worker asst for about 2.5 years in a gerontolgy facility and I don't understand why I can not be hired as a director someone always get hired in front of me and I don't understand why help

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

Sandi in Martinsville, Virginia

74 months ago

Cynthia in Dayton, Ohio said: I have been a social worker asst for about 2.5 years in a gerontolgy facility and I don't understand why I can not be hired as a director someone always get hired in front of me and I don't understand why help

Ms. Cynthia,

Have you thought about speaking with your supervisor regarding some feedback as to how well you are currently doing on the job? Has your current supervisor provided you with any tips on what you can do to increase your ability to obtain a director's position? What other experience have you had? Maybe possibly taking that experience and expounding on that will increase your chances of getting a better position. I hope this helps some!

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No (1) Reply - Report abuse

Stephanie in Arlington, Texas

74 months ago

You might also check to see if the jobs you are applying for require a particular accreditation or licensure. I know that in TX you have to be licensed as a social worker for a certain number of patients in a facility. You might also check with the local state agency to determine what the qualifications are for nursing home social workers.

cynthia in Dayton, Ohio

74 months ago