Career transition from social work field

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (101 to 150 of 372)
Page:  « Previous   1  2  3  4  5  6  Next »   Last »

Vickie01 in Brooklyn, New York

24 months ago

I actually had a decent job in publishing before taking a job as a Therapist. The pay was bad in publishing too and since I already had an MSW I thought clinical work would pay more. Three years later I realize what a mistake I have made. I have tried to apply to jobs in publishing for medical or psychology editor and I get calls but most employers feel that one day I will run off to another job because I have a masters. Strangely enough, I applied for a few Financial Advisor positions and was offered a position but I could not take the risk of living off commission only. I really had to hussle during the interviews and show how a social worker can transform into a person giving financial advice. If you want to do this you have to take a few exams to get licensed. It seems worth it if you can have some support especially with solid companies like MetLife and Merrill Lynch. Research Scientist is another option and/or Policy Analyst. I believe there is a list of alternative careers fir social workers on the NASW website. Also, Make sure you write an objective on your resume and put the MSW degree at the way bottom on your resume. I have applied to many places for administrative positions and they automatically send my resume to the Social Work department. For those of you with tuition reimbursement at your jobs, take advantage and study something else ASAP. I myself am returning to school to study Statistics and it was approved because it can be used in healthcare. Sometimes they will even pay for an MBA or an Accounting degree. Don't loose hope. Hussle it. We are experts at gab. Good luck.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (4) / No (1) Reply - Report abuse

AshleyBlaire30 in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

24 months ago