Conservatism in Social Work

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (7)

qrm06 in Tallahassee, Florida

35 months ago

I know there is another thread on this topic but I wanted to update and get the topic started again! I started a yahoo group on Conservatism in Social Work and I think it would be a good place for like minded individuals to discuss various aspects of Social Work. People should not just accept the normal ideal of the profession if they disagree with it. We are supposed to advocate for others and if we want to do it effectively we should be able to advocate for ourselves. I am still a student and talk to many people about this issue and get mixed reactions. I am made to feel that because I have different ideals I WILL NOT be an adequate professional unless I change. I ask these people to tell me why that will be and they say you only care about the rich. My main goal is to dispel some of these myths and discuss the differences openly. Please comment and give me feed back, I am always open to critique.
And if you are interested, Please join the group and let me know what you think. The website is:
health.groups.yahoo.com/group/ConservatismInSocialWork/]ConservatismInSocialWork : Conservatism In Social Work

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (1) / No Reply - Report abuse

qrm06 in Tallahassee, Florida

33 months ago

does anyone have any comments about this topic?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

tripplesix in Washington, District of Columbia

32 months ago

qrm06 in Tallahassee, Florida said: does anyone have any comments about this topic?

Hi qrm06.
i would like to comment. but aside from stating "conservatism in social work" i'm not sure what your opinion is. what exactly are your feelings. from the way you ended it, i may not disagree with you but i'm totally up for a discussion. i don't have to agree to respect your opinions. What are your opinions?