Geriatric Social Work Opportunities

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (15)

a confused student in Cincinnati, Ohio

85 months ago

I'm an MSW student and I'm currently looking for internship ideas in the field of geriatrics. Is there anything out there working one on one with the elderly? Counseling or other ideas?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No (10) Reply - Report abuse

renne in San Antonio, Texas

85 months ago

I am a geriatric social worker with a masters in gerontology and a bachelor in social work. I would advise that you try out companies that provide psychiatric services to seniors in nursing homes.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (6) / No (1) Reply - Report abuse

Michelle in Huntington Beach, California

84 months ago

a confused student in Cincinnati, Ohio said: I'm an MSW student and I'm currently looking for internship ideas in the field of geriatrics. Is there anything out there working one on one with the elderly? Counseling or other ideas?

I would try Adult Day Health Care Centers, Gero-psych units in hospitals, VA Hospitals, Hospice Agencies, senior centers

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (2) / No Reply - Report abuse

Janice in Mount Pleasant, South Carolina

84 months ago

I would try contracting NASW in your area.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

Jamie, LCSW in Lakeland, Florida

83 months ago

You might try Hospice, a lot of the work will be with the family. It won't be much real clinical psychotherapy. Nusing Home would be a good place, some states have Clinical SW that do psychotherapy with resident's there. That is currently what I do in FL. I know Indiana has the same company I work for. Funded by Medicare.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (5) / No Reply - Report abuse

smallanimals in Brooklyn, New York

82 months ago

Try kateri rsidence in manhattan