other career fields similar to social work?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (33)

Emmanuel S. in Liberia

35 months ago

Whoa,whoa... I can't believe I'm not the only person feeling remorsefulabout the social work profession! It is ofcourse the very reason why I find myself on this page. I typed this phrase into google search engine:"fields semilar to social work".I am in my final semester of the social work bachelor degree program- that is a few months to graduation. But I strongly feel I am about to earn nothing. This had never appeared to me for the past three and a half years. I am frantically struggling to decide whether I should persue a master's in the field to feel more secure, or to take up another bachelor's in a completely different area of studies which does not bear such labels as female-dominated or low-paid. But Tiffany we can move on, however your case is a bit different-- career options in my country are very limitted, and I took social work because of its uniqueness, thus playing down the employment or income-earning implications. You are in the US! Interestingly though, is the fact that I see a number of other guys leaving from nursing to social work! Can some one help? ..development studies, public health policy/management, environmental health...?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (47) / No (16) Reply - Report abuse

Stella in Oak Forest, Illinois

35 months ago

I want to know if anyone who earned a degree in social work (BSW,MSW) used their degree in another field without going back to school for another degree? People say social work degrees are flexible...but in what other industries?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (166) / No (24) Reply - Report abuse

mrsmcleaver218 in Salt Lake City, Utah

34 months ago