re-entering the field after an absence

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (11)

Janet in Brooklyn, New York

87 months ago

I have been a medical social worker for 17 years in NYC hospitals, but resigned my job five years ago when the hospital I worked for (as did so many hospitals here) shut down their social work department and made their social workers case managers.

Since then, I have not been able to find work, as my resume is all medical social work. Does anyone have any ideas for an older person like myself, who, although has tons of experience, has been unemployed and "phased-out" of their particular niche of social work? Or are there any other older social workers out there with whom I can connect?

Thanks, Janet

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (2) / No Reply - Report abuse

tara in Toms River, New Jersey

87 months ago

Janet in Brooklyn, New York said: I have been a medical social worker for 17 years in NYC hospitals, but resigned my job five years ago when the hospital I worked for (as did so many hospitals here) shut down their social work department and made their social workers case managers.

Since then, I have not been able to find work, as my resume is all medical social work. Does anyone have any ideas for an older person like myself, who, although has tons of experience, has been unemployed and "phased-out" of their particular niche of social work? Or are there any other older social workers out there with whom I can connect?

Thanks, Janet