How to train as a social worker

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (36)

BonBon in Liverpool, United Kingdom

84 months ago

I am wondering if anybody can help me out with advice regarding training. I am a graduate (English not social work) and I currently work with young offenders for a local authority. I need to leave my job to become qualified but i'm concerned about financially supporting myself as I have a mortgage to contend with. What I want to know really is if any of you have done the MA, how many hours was it? Could you have fitted part time job in as well?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (57) / No (9) Reply - Report abuse

Ronald Neslon in Bronx, New York

83 months ago

I'm a senior at the College of NewRochelle and is expected to apply to graduate school for social work. I have a solid background working in the field of social service for 5 years. I would like to know if a social service organization can hire me with a Liberal Arts Degree until achieving an MSW.

The purpose of this question is because I would very much like to work in the capacity of group homes, juvenile intake or outake programs. This is a passion that I'm pursuiing and do believe that I can make a difference in an At-Risk childs life.

When I think of social services, words that come to mind are life saving, life affirming, social responsibility, empowerment, and quality services. These words also come to mind when I think of my work history, educational background, and future employment goals. With this in mind, I am confident that, as an employee of any social services organization, I would be an added asset and would be able to enhance the quality services that have become the hallmark of what social services represents.

Sincerly,

Ronald Nelson

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (12) / No (5) Reply - Report abuse

Allison

83 months ago